If I had to pick which game Haven Park was more heavily influenced by, I would probably say it’s definitely more Animal Crossing than it is A Short Hike. As I’ve been exploring the island and discovering new campsites to fix up, I’ve been picking up sticks, logs and mushrooms and rummaging through barrels for materials such as metal and fabric so I can fill said sites with cool, fun things like tents, firepits, barbecue stations, beach umbrellas and more. There’s a lot of flexibility in where you place your various creations. While each campsite has a generally defined area where you’ll need to put things down in order for them to count as ‘being’ in that site, you can plop down a tent, grill, radio, bench - you name it - pretty much wherever you want. You’re not tied to a set grid like Animal Crossing, and once you’ve decided on the rough location you can rotate your item to whatever jaunty angle you desire. It’s a bit like Hokko Life, in that respect - albeit with a much clearer set of goals and objectives attached to them. I’m still pretty early on in the game, but so far it’s a very lovely place to hang out and mosey about in. Developer Fabien Weibel estimates it will only take two to four hours or so to ‘complete’ Haven Park, but based on what I’ve played so far, this is definitely a game I want to take my time with. The top down view means it shares that same sense of delight and discovery as A Short Hike, and at the moment I’ve probably spent more time just walking around collecting things than actually doing any campsite building. It’s very easy to get distracted by some alternate route or some new trinket in the distance, but bumbling my way back to the beaten path is just as enjoyable, too. It’s a game of detours and diversions, and I’m just having a swell time soaking it all in. If that sounds like your kind of game, Haven Park is out now on Steam and GOG for just £6 / $8, which I think you’ll agree is just perfect for an afternoon’s worth of cosy, island fun.

Haven Park really is A Short Hike meets Animal Crossing  and it s cute  cosy fun - 78